Swimming Aids for Adults - what makes sense and really helps?

 According to surveys by the DLRG, one in four adults in Germany cannot swim. This can have different reasons, eg a missed swimming course as a child, fear of the water or people come from a culture in which learning to swim is rather uncommon.

Regardless of the exact reason why someone cannot swim, most of those affected have one thing in common: they want to change the situation.      

The ability to swim can save lives - either your own or someone else's. In addition, many adult non-swimmers are ashamed of their peers and often conceal the fact that they cannot swim.

In addition to non-swimmers, there are also many people who like to swim regularly, be it just to relax, for fitness reasons or for training. In training, it is common to train with swimming aids, e.g. B. to improve technique or endurance or to make swimming training more efficient.

Swimming is also a tried and tested method in the rehabilitation and health sector: swimming is considered to be particularly gentle on joints and ligaments, and at the same time it is excellent for building muscles and stamina. Swimming is ideal for anyone who has had to accept restricted movement for a long time, for example due to an injury or for other reasons, such as a herniated disc.

For all target groups, non-swimmers, swimming enthusiasts, the rehabilitation area as well as athletes and triathletes, there are various swimming aids that make moving in the water easier.    

Let's take a look at the tools that are available to make (learning) to swim easier or more efficient.

Let's start with learning to swim and see what physical aids are available and how useful they are

When children are learning to swim, it is completely normal for physical aids to be used. However, when it comes to learning to swim among adults, there is often a fear of making a fool of oneself if one uses aids, although these are used as a matter of course during swimming training.

First of all, a distinction must be made between water toys and swimming aids.

The former is probably mainly available at the beach kiosk or bathing lake, for example products such as inflatable animals, palm trees, armchairs, air mattresses or beach balls. They often only bear the CE mark or the EN 71-1 mark.

If a product is a tested swimming aid, it must bear the label EN 13 138-1 - a safety standard according to which all aids for learning to swim must be tested in detail.

The following commercially available tools can be found on the market:

arm floats

They are the classic when children learn to swim. Their main purpose is to give people buoyancy and keep them safely afloat. This is how you are protected from drowning in an emergency, for example if panic breaks out

According to experts, they tend to be a hindrance when learning to swim. They restrict the natural swimming movements of the arms in the water, and it is also difficult to get into the right position in the water.

There are also arm bands for adults, but for the reasons just mentioned we would advise against using them when learning to swim.

The swimming noodle or pool noodle

The swimming noodle was originally only intended for use in aqua fitness, but has meanwhile become established in many places as an aid for swimming lessons.

Both children and adults can rest their arms on it during swimming exercises on their stomach and back and in this way train their sense of balance in the water. Due to the freedom of movement of the user, while at the same time there is sufficient buoyancy, it can be classified as a useful aid for swimming beginners.

The swimming noodle is used less frequently in swimming training for hobbyists and professionals.

The swimming pillow

Many experts consider swimming pillows to be the best tool for learning to swim.

The pillows are usually made of cotton, which means there are no plugs or valves, which among other things also means that they are difficult to break.

Many models can be attached to the upper body with a strap so that you cannot lose them in the water. The arm movements are not restricted at any time and the body is automatically in the right position for swimming.

Attention adults: many swimming cushions are designed for children's swimming lessons and only have a load capacity of 11 to 60 kilograms - however, there are also models especially for late-career swimming students who can carry more weight.

This tool is not normally used in regular training for advanced swimmers, but we can definitely recommend it for learning to swim.

The swim board

The swimming board is probably the most well-known tool for water sports.

While the flotation cushion is primarily a tool to provide buoyancy and safety in the water, the flotation board is something more. It helps to learn or practice leg swimming.

The swimming board can be used for any swimming position. If you clamp it between your legs, you can even practice arm swimming.

It offers both children and adults an optimal training device.

What about swimming goggles?

In addition to a bathing suit or swimming trunks, swimming goggles are the most important piece of equipment for experienced swimmers during training, as well as when swimming in a leisure pool or open water. On the one hand, they protect the eyes from aggressive chlorine and suspended matter in the water and, on the other hand, good swimming goggles enable orientation in the pool and even more so in open water.

Swimming goggles are not recommended for a beginner swimmer, because you should get used to being in the water with all your senses and learn to orientate yourself in the water without swimming goggles - it is not without reason, for example, that the swimming badge is always taken without glasses. Only when you feel safe in the water without swimming goggles should you think about using them regularly.

Breathing aids for technique optimization

Correct water position and timing of leg and arm movements are essential for good swimming technique, especially when doing the front crawl. With a snorkel, coordinative elements are reduced and concentrated practice is made possible. Because you don't have to turn your head to breathe, you can focus solely on arm technique, kicking, and position in the water.

The company AMEO has developed the Powerbreather, a patented swimming snorkel, to support professional and amateur athletes in swimming training and to make it more effective. As soon as it comes to optimizing the swimming technique, the Powerbreather is the ideal support to quickly take a swimmer to the next level.

In addition, the Powerbreather is of course suitable for snorkeling.

With the Powerbreather you breathe underwater almost the same as on land, which makes it much easier to concentrate on your swimming technique or the underwater world while snorkeling. When swimming with the Powerbreather you can train both the swimming technique and the breathing technique. The various attachments (SPEED VENTS) with different resistances are available for this purpose. Incidentally, the Powerbreather can be used with any standard swimming goggles

Of course, it can also be used in combination with other aids, eg with a swimming board or cushion.

If you want to try the Powerbreather as an effective support for your swimming training, you can test the swimming snorkel for 90 days in a relaxed manner. Feel free to visit the online shop (link). You can use this test to determine which is the right Powerbreather for you.

Where is the best place to buy swimming aids and what should you look out for?

Both in specialist shops and in online shops there is a large selection of aids - we advise swimming beginners not to buy them used or, for example, to borrow them from friends, since the material of older products has often been damaged and the safety has also been affected -Standards have changed over the years.

When buying, you should not only pay attention to the CE mark - this is only a self-declaration of the industry. Much more important, however, is the GS mark, where the two letters stand for "tested safety".

Whether you buy in a shop or order online is up to you - especially when buying swimming aids for adults, many prefer to go online.

However, swimming aids for children should always be bought “offline”, since in this case it is very important that the children are involved in the selection process and feel comfortable with the aids.

Swimming aids for training are often provided by clubs or trainers, for example if you book a swimming technique course. The Powerbreather is also used by some trainers in swimming training. Here it is still advisable to purchase your own Powerbreather after a test. Even if the mouthpiece is interchangeable and everyone can freely choose their preferred mouthpiece, their own Powerbreather is certainly more hygienic and can also be taken on vacation for snorkeling.

Maintenance is very simple: Rinse the Powerbreather with fresh water after each use and then let it dry. To do this, simply remove the valve attachments (SPEED VENTS) at the upper end of the air tubes.

At this point it should be mentioned that swimming aids by no means offer reliable protection against drowning - if at all, only the classic and certified life jacket can do that, which, for example, keeps you afloat in the right position even if you faint.

We strongly advise against teaching yourself to swim, it would be far too risky. There are swimming courses for adults all over Germany and there are swimming coaches who have been specially trained to teach adults.

If you are interested, simply find out more about your region on the internet, we are sure that you will find the right swimming course for you this way. Make sure that the courses take place for a maximum of 10 people at the same time, as this is the only way to ensure the necessary attention from the swimming coach.

No matter how, where and with which aids you want to learn to swim, optimize your swimming technique or simply make it easier for you to swim, we congratulate you on your decision and wish you every success!

The right power breather for you

Power breathers & accessories

POWERBREATHER SPORT package grey

129,95 

129,95  VAT included

Power breathers & accessories

AMEO POWERBREATHER SPORT GRAY – NEW COLOUR

99,95 

99,95  VAT included

Power breathers & accessories

AMEO POWER BREATHER SPORT BLUE

99,95 

99,95  VAT included

Power breathers & accessories

AMEO POWERBREATHER WAVE

129,95 

129,95  VAT included

Power breathers & accessories

FLIP CAP / WAVE CAP grey

14,95 

14,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

FLIP CAP / WAVE CAP

14,95 

14,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

MOUTHPIECE JUNIOR, BLUE

9,95 

9,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

MOUTHPIECE REGULAR

9,90 

9,90  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

SPEED VENT EASY L BLUE

29,95 

29,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

SPEED VENT EASY L GRAY

29,95 

29,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

SPEED VENT EASY L PINK

29,95 

29,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

SPEED VENT EASY S

24,95 

24,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

SPEED VENT MEDIUM S

24,95 

24,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Power breathers & accessories

SPEED VENT POWER S

24,95 

24,95  VAT included excl. Shipping rate

Shop Now

Schwimm-Hilfsmittel für Erwachsene – was ist sinnvoll und hilft wirklich?

Schwimm-Hilfsmittel für Erwachsene – was ist sinnvoll und hilft wirklich?

 In Deutschland kann laut Umfragen der DLRG erschreckenderweise jeder vierte Erwachsene nicht schwimmen. Dies kann unterschiedliche Gründe haben, z.B. ein versäumter Schwimmkurs als Kind, Angst vor dem Wasser oder Personen kommen aus einer Kultur, in der das Schwimmen lernen eher unüblich ist.

Egal, aus welchen Gründen genau jemand nicht schwimmen kann, eines haben die meisten Betroffenen gemeinsam: sie möchten etwas an der Situation ändern.      

Die Fähigkeit zu schwimmen kann Leben retten – entweder das eigene oder das von anderen Personen. Zudem schämen sich viele erwachsene Nichtschwimmer vor ihren Altersgenossen und verschweigen oft, dass sie nicht schwimmen können.

Neben den Nichtschwimmern gibt es aber auch viele Menschen, die gerne regelmäßig schwimmen gehen, sei es einfach nur als Ausgleich, aus Fitnessgründen oder zum Training. Im Training ist es üblich mit Schwimm-Hilfsmitteln zu trainieren, um z. B. die Technik oder die Ausdauer zu verbessern bzw. das Schwimmtraining effizienter zu machen.

Auch im Reha & Gesundheitsbereich ist Schwimmen ein bewährtes Mittel: Schwimmen gilt als besonders schonend für Gelenke und Bänder, gleichzeitig eignet es sich hervorragend dazu, Muskeln und Kondition aufzubauen. Für alle, die längere Zeit eine Bewegungseinschränkung hinnehmen mussten, etwa wegen einer Verletzung oder aus anderen Gründen, wie zum Beispiel einem Bandscheibenvorfall ist Schwimmen ideal.

Für alle Zielgruppen, Nichtschwimmer, Schwimm-Begeisterte, den Reha-Bereich sowie Sportler und Triathleten gibt es diverse Schwimm-Hilfsmittel, die das Bewegen im Wasser leichter machen.    

Schauen wir uns an, welche Hilfsmittel es gibt, um das Schwimmen (lernen) zu erleichtern bzw. effizienter zu gestalten.

Fangen wir beim Schwimmen lernen an und schauen, welche physischen Hilfsmittel es gibt und wie sinnvoll diese sind

Wenn Kinder Schwimmen lernen ist es völlig normal, dass physische Hilfsmittel zum Einsatz kommen. Wenn es allerdings bei Erwachsenen ums Schwimmen lernen geht, kommt oft die Angst auf, sich lächerlich zu machen, wenn man Hilfsmittel benutzt, obwohl diese beim Schwimmtraining selbstverständlich genutzt werden.

Zunächst einmal muss zwischen Wasserspielzeug und Schwimmhilfen unterschieden werden.

Ersteres ist wohl vor allem am Strandkiosk oder Badesee zu bekommen, dabei handelt es sich zum Beispiel um Produkte wie aufblasbare Tiere, Palmen, Sessel, Luftmatratzen oder Wasserbälle. Sie tragen oft lediglich das CE-Zeichen oder die Kennzeichnung EN 71-1.

Wenn es sich bei einem Produkt um eine geprüfte Schwimmhilfe handelt, muss es die Kennzeichnung EN 13 138-1 tragen – eine Sicherheitsnorm, nach der alle Hilfsmittel zum Schwimmen lernen eingehend geprüft werden müssen.

Folgende handelsüblichen Hilfsmittel sind auf dem Markt zu finden:

Schwimmflügel

Sie sind der Klassiker, wenn Kinder Schwimmen lernen. Ihr Hauptzweck ist es, Menschen Auftrieb zu geben und sie sicher über Wasser zu halten. So wird man im Ernstfall vor dem Ertrinken bewahrt, sollte zum Beispiel Panik ausbrechen

Laut Experten sind sie beim Schwimmen lernen eher hinderlich. Sie schränken die natürlichen Schwimmbewegungen der Arme im Wasser ein, zudem ist es schwer, damit in die richtige Wasserlage zu kommen.

Es gibt auch Schwimmflügel für Erwachsene, aber aus den eben genannten Gründen würden wir eher davon abraten, beim Schwimmen lernen darauf zurück zu greifen.

Die Schwimmnudel oder Poolnudel

Die Schwimmnudel war ursprünglich eigentlich nur für den Bereich rund um das Aqua-Fitness gedacht, hat sich aber mittlerweile vielerorts auch als Hilfsmittel für den Schwimmunterricht durchgesetzt.

Sowohl Kinder als auch Erwachsene können bei Schwimmübungen auf dem Bauch und Rücken die Arme darauf ablegen und auf diese Weise ihren Gleichgewichtssinn im Wasser trainieren. Aufgrund der Bewegungsfreiheit des Nutzers, wobei gleichzeitig ausreichend Auftrieb gegeben ist, ist sie als sinnvolles Hilfsmittel für Schwimmanfänger einzustufen.

Im Schwimmtraining des Hobby- und Profibereichs wird die Schwimmnudel seltener eingesetzt.

Das Schwimmkissen

Viele Experten halten Schwimmkissen für das beste Hilfsmittel, um Schwimmen zu lernen.

Die Kissen bestehen in der Regel aus Baumwolle, d.h. es gibt auch keine Stöpsel oder Ventile, was unter anderem auch dafür sorgt, dass sie nur schwer kaputtgehen können.

Viele Modelle können mit einem Gurt am Oberkörper befestigt werden, sodass man sie im Wasser nicht verlieren kann. Die Armbewegungen sind zu keiner Zeit eingeschränkt und der Körper befindet sich automatisch in der richtigen Lage zum Schwimmen.

Erwachsene aufgepasst: viele Schwimmkissen sind für den Schwimmunterricht für Kinder konzipiert und haben lediglich eine Tragfähigkeit von 11 bis 60 Kilogramm – es gibt allerdings auch Modelle speziell für spätberufene Schwimmschüler, die mehr Gewicht tragen können.

Beim regulären Training für fortgeschrittene Schwimmer kommt dieses Hilfsmittel normalerweise nicht zum Einsatz, zum Schwimmen lernen können wir es aber auf jeden Fall empfehlen.

Das Schwimmbrett

Das Schwimmbrett ist das wohl bekannteste Hilfsmittel für den Wassersport.

Während das Schwimmkissen insbesondere ein Hilfmittel ist, um Auftrieb zu schaffen und Sicherheit im Wasser zu geben, ist das Schwimmbrett etwas mehr. Es unterstützt dabei das Beineschwimmen zu erlernen oder üben.

Das Schwimmbrett kann für jede Schwimmlage verwendet werden. Klemmt man es sich zwischen die Beine, kann sogar das Armeschwimmen geübt werden.

Es bietet es sowohl Kindern als auch Erwachsenen ein optimales Trainingsgerät.

Wie sieht es mit Schwimmbrillen aus?

Neben Badeanzug oder Badehose ist die Schwimmbrille der wichtigste Equipment-Bestandteil für erfahrene Schwimmer beim Training, sowie beim Baden im Freizeitbad oder Open Water. Zum einen schützt sie die Augen vor aggressivem Chlor und Schwebstoffen im Wasser und zum anderen ermöglicht eine gute Schwimmbrille die Orientierung im Becken und erst recht im Freiwasser.

Für einen Schwimmanfänger ist zunächst von einer Schwimmbrille abzuraten, denn man sollte sich mit allen Sinnen an einen Aufenthalt im Wasser gewöhnen und lernen, sich auch ohne Schwimmbrille im Wasser zu orientieren – nicht ohne Grund erfolgt beispielsweise die Schwimmabzeichen-Abnahme immer ohne Brille. Erst wenn man sich ohne Schwimmbrille im Wasser sicher fühlt, sollte man über eine regelmäßige Nutzung nachdenken.

Atemhilfsmittel zur Technikoptimierung

Eine korrekte Wasserlage und das Timing von Bein-und Armbewegung sind essentiell für eine gute Schwimmtechnik, vor allem beim Kraulen. Mit einem Schnorchel werden koordinative Elemente reduziert und ein konzentriertes Üben ermöglicht. Da der Kopf zum Atmen nicht gedreht werden muss, kann man sich ausschließlich auf die Technik der Arme, den Beinschlag und die Wasserlage konzentrieren.

Die Firma AMEO hat den Powerbreather, einen patentierten Schwimmschnorchel, entwickelt, um Profi- und Hobbysportler beim Schwimmtraining zu unterstützen und dieses effektiver zu gestalten. Sobald es daran geht, die Schwimmtechnik zu optimieren, ist der Powerbreather die ideale Unterstützung, um einen Schwimmer schnell auf das nächste Level zu bringen.

Außerdem ist der Powerbreather natürlich zum Schnorcheln geeignet.

Mit dem Powerbreather atmet man unter Wasser quasi genauso wie an Land, was es einem viel einfacher macht, sich auf seine Schwimmtechnik oder die Unterwasserwelt beim Schnorcheln zu konzentrieren. Beim Schwimmen mit dem Powerbreather kann man sowohl die Schwimmtechnik als auch die Atemtechnik trainieren. Hierfür stehen die verschiedenen Aufsätze (SPEED VENTS) mit unterschiedlichen Widerständen zur Verfügung. Der Powerbreather kann übrigens mit jeder gängigen Schwimmbrille genutzt werden

Natürlich kann er auch in Kombination mit anderen Hilfsmitteln eingesetzt werden, z.B. mit einem Schwimmbrett- oder Kissen.

Wenn du den Powerbreather als effektive Unterstützung bei deinem Schwimmtraining ausprobieren möchtest, kannst du den Schwimmschnorchel übrigens ganz entspannt 90 Tage lang testen. Schau gerne im Online Shop (verlinken) vorbei. Welcher der richtige Powerbreather für dich ist, kannst du mit diesem Test ermitteln.

Wo kann man Schwimmhilfen am besten kaufen und worauf sollte man achten?

Sowohl in Fachgeschäften als auch in Online-Shops gibt eine große Auswahl an Hilfsmitteln – wir raten Schwimmanfängern davon ab, diese gebraucht zu kaufen oder zum Beispiel bei Freunden auszuleihen, da bei älteren Produkten das Material oft schon in Mitleidenschaft gezogen wurde und sich auch die Sicherheits-Standards mit den Jahren geändert haben.

Beim Kauf sollte nicht nur auf das CE-Zeichen geachtet werden – hierbei handelt es sich lediglich um eine Selbsterklärung der Branche. Viel wichtiger hingegen ist das GS-Zeichen, bei dem die beiden Buchstaben für “geprüfte Sicherheit” stehen.

Ob man nun in einem Laden kauft oder online bestellt, bleibt jedem selbst überlassen – gerade beim Kauf von Schwimmhilfen für Erwachsene gehen viele lieber den Weg über den Online Shop.

Schwimmhilfen für Kinder sollte man allerdings immer “offline” kaufen, da es in diesem Fall sehr wichtig ist, dass die Kinder beim Aussuchen beteiligt sind und sich mit den Hilfsmitteln wohlfühlen.

Schwimmhilfen zum Training werden oft von Vereinen bzw. Trainern zur Verfügung gestellt, wenn man sich beispielsweise einen Schwimmtechnikkurs bucht. Auch der Powerbreather wird bei einigen Trainern im Schwimmtraining eingesetzt. Hier empfiehlt es sich dennoch nach einem Test einen eigenen Powerbreather zu erwerben. Auch wenn das Mundstück austauschbar ist und jeder sein präferiertes Mundstück frei wählen kann ist der eigene Powerbreather sicherlich hygienischer und kann zudem mit in den Urlaub zum Schnorcheln genommen werden.

Die Pflege ist ganz einfach: Spüle den Powerbreather nach jeder Benutzung mit Frischwasser aus und lasse ihn anschließend trocknen. Nimm dazu einfach die Ventilaufsätze (SPEED VENTS) am oberen Ende der Luftröhren ab.

An dieser Stelle sei noch erwähnt, dass Schwimmhilfen keineswegs einen sicheren Schutz vor dem Ertrinken bieten – wenn überhaupt, kann das nur die klassische und zertifizierte Schwimmweste, die einen zum Beispiel auch bei einer Ohnmacht in der richtigen Lage über Wasser hält.

Wir raten ausdrücklich davon ab, sich das Schwimmen selbst beizubringen, dies wäre viel zu riskant. Es gibt in Deutschland flächendeckend Schwimmkurse für Erwachsene und Schwimmtrainer, die speziell für den Unterricht mit Erwachsenen ausgebildet wurden.

Informiere dich bei Interesse einfach im Internet über deine Region, wir sind uns sicher, dass du auf diese Weise den passenden Schwimmkurs für dich findest. Achte hierbei darauf, dass die Kurse maximal für 10 Leute gleichzeitig stattfinden, da nur so die nötige Aufmerksamkeit durch den Schwimmtrainer gewähreistet ist.

Egal wie, wo und mit welchen Hilfsmitteln du Schwimmen lernen, deine Schwimmtechnik optimieren oder es dir beim Schwimmen einfach leichter machen möchtest, wir beglückwünschen dich zu deiner Entscheidung und wünschen dir viel Erfolg!